ANNUAL COUNCIL

MINUTES of the Meeting held in the Council Chamber, Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT on Wednesday, 16 May 2018 from 7.00pm - 7.49pm.

PRESENT: Councillors Sarah Aldridge, Mike Baldock, Cameron Beart, Bobbin, Monique Bonney, Andy Booth, Tina Booth, Lloyd Bowen, Bowles, Roger Clark, Derek Conway, Mike Cosgrove, Richard Darby, Mike Dendor, Duncan Dewar-Whalley, Mark Ellen, Paul Fleming, June Garrad, Sue Gent, Nicholas Hampshire, Harrison, Alan Horton, James Hunt, Ken Ingleton (Deputy Mayor), Nigel Kay, Samuel Koffie-Williams Gerry Lewin, Peter Marchington, (Mayor), David Simmons, Padmini Nissanga, Prescott. Ben Stokes, Lynd Taylor, Roger Truelove. Anita Walker. Ghlin Whelan. Mike Whiting. Ted Wilcox. Tony Winckless and John Wright.

OFFICERS PRESENT: Katherine Bescoby, Robin Harris, Chris Lovelock, Mark Radford, Gary Rowland and Nick Vickers.

APOLOGIES: Councillors Mick Galvin, James Hall, Mike Henderson, Bryan Mulhern, Ken Pugh and George Samuel.

9 MINUTES SILENCE

There was a minute's silence in memory of Honorary Alderman Ricky Barnicott and former Councillor Brian Meeres.

The Leader spoke in memory of former Councillor Brian Meeres and Honorary Alderman Ricky Barnicott. Members shared their fond memories and anecdotes, and spoke of the significant contribution that Honorary Alderman Ricky Barnicott had made to the Borough and communities of Swale.

10 PRAYERS

The Mayor's Chaplain said Prayers.

11 EMERGENCY EVACUATION PROCEDURE

The Mayor outlined the emergency evacuation procedure.

12 MINUTES

The Minutes of the Meeting held on 21 March 2018 (Minute Nos. 546 – 560) were taken as read, approved and signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

13 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No interests were declared.

Annual Council 16 May 2018

14 MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

15 ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMITTEES AND THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Leader introduced the report, which asked the Council to establish the Committees of the Council for the Municipal Year 2018/19, with the terms of reference as set out in Appendix I to the report. There were no changes to existing arrangements.

The Leader proposed and the Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Planning seconded the recommendations in the report.

Resolved:

(1) That the Committees and Terms of Reference, as set out in Appendix I to the report, be agreed for the 2018/19 Municipal Year.

16 ALLOCATION OF COMMITTEE SEATS AND COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS FOR 2018/19

The Leader introduced the report and advised that he had asked Councillor Mike Dendor to be Vice-Chairman of the Scrutiny Committee. He drew attention to the changes to the Cabinet Portfolios and the Cabinet and Deputy Cabinet Members, which were within the gift of the Leader to agree.

In response to comments, the Leader clarified the changes to the Cabinet Portfolios and postholders, and clarified that Councillor Nigel Kay would not be claiming a special responsibility allowance for being a Deputy Cabinet Member.

The Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Planning highlighted that training would be required for some Members on the Planning Committee and the Licensing Committee. It was also noted that the political balance calculation would be updated to reflect the change in name of the UKIP group to The Swale Group.

Resolved:

- (1) That the political balance calculation, as set out in Appendix I to the Minutes, be agreed.
- (2) That the allocation of seats to Committees in accordance with the wishes of Group Leaders, and as set out in Appendix II to these Minutes, be agreed.
- (3) That the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Committees, as set out in Appendix III to these Minutes, be agreed.

17 BOROUGH COUNCIL REPRESENTATION ON OUTSIDE BODIES, TRUSTS ADMINISTERED BY SWALE BOROUGH COUNCIL AND STATUTORY BODIES

The Leader introduced the report which asked for agreement of Borough Council representation on outside bodies, trusts administered by Swale Borough Council

Annual Council 16 May 2018

and statutory bodies. Attention was drawn to the tabled paper which set out the nominations put forward.

The Leader of the Swale Group considered that the nominations should be shared out amongst the political groups on the Council, and these sentiments were echoed by the Leader of the Labour Group and the Deputy Leader of the Independent Group. A discussion ensued regarding the appointment process, reporting requirements, and non-attendance.

As there were two nominations to the Kent Downs Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) Joint Advisory Committee, namely Councillor Monique Bonney and Councillor Prescott, the Senior Lawyer outlined the procedure for voting. The vote was taken, which was in favour of Councillor Prescott.

Resolved:

(1) That the Borough Council representation on outside bodies, trusts administered by Swale Borough Council and statutory bodies, be as set out in Appendix IV to these Minutes.

18 CONFIRMATION OF TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS FOR 2018/19

The Leader reminded Members that the Timetable of Meetings for 2018/19 had been agreed by Council in February 2018. It was noted that reference to UKIP needed to be changed to The Swale Group.

Resolved:

(1) That the Timetable of Meetings for 2018/19, subject to the change in name referred to in the above Minute, be noted.

Mayor

Copies of this document are available on the Council website http://www.swale.gov.uk/dso/. If you would like hard copies or alternative versions (i.e. large print, audio, different language) we will do our best to accommodate your request please contact Swale Borough Council at Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT or telephone the Customer Service Centre 01795 417850.

All Minutes are draft until agreed at the next meeting of the Committee/Panel